Title Bar
 

Home Page
Departments
Commission
Contact Us
Online Forms
Online Services
Employment
Frequently Asked Questions
Links

Web Site designed and maintained by:
Rea web designs logo
Direct Questions and Comments to:
Webmaster
Hosted by
accessKansas
Translate pages on
this site to a
different language with


Stevens County Treasurer

Motor Vehicle Department
Vanessa Willis
Stevens County Treasurer

 

Street Address County Courthouse
200 E. 6th
Hugoton, Ks 67951
Mailing Address 200 E. 6th
Hugoton, Ks 67951
E-Mail Address svkstreasurer@gmail.com
Phone Numbers Office: (620) 544-2542
Fax: (620) 544-4094
Driver's License Hours 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Tuesday - Friday
Available Tag Styles / Tag Schedule /
Frequently Asked Questions /
Vehicle Registration- Special Tag Forms*
Vehicle Titling Forms* /
Miscellaneous Vehicle Forms* /
Treasurer Main Page
Drivers License
Property Tax

The Stevens County Treasurer's Office is an agent for the State of Kansas for registering and titling motor vehicles. We issue license plates upon receipt of proper documentation and submission of the correct fees. The fees include registration fees, personal property taxes, title fees, and sales tax, if applicable. Each year the State sends out courtesy reminders six weeks prior to the expiration date of the license plate. It is a state law that every vehicle has proper insurance coverage before the vehicle can be registered. We handle the initial titling of vehicles in Stevens County, as well as the annual renewals. Once a vehicle is purchased, the new owner has 30 days in which to bring their documentation into our office to be processed. If the purchase is an out-of-state title, the owner of the vehicle needs to have a vehicle identification inspection completed. This is done at the Stevens County Sheriff's Office for a charge of $20.00 in cash only. The license plates in Kansas expire based on the first letter in the last name of the first person on the title.

top of page

Vehicle Tag Schedule

Last name begins with: Tag expires at midnight on:
A
February 28 (or 29)
B
March 31
C - D
April 30
E - F - G
May 31
H - I
June 30
J - K - L
July 31
M - N - O
August 31
P - Q - R
September 30
S
October 31
T - V - W
November 30
U - X - Y - Z
December 31

top of page

Miscellaneous Vehicle Forms

top of page

Vehicle Tag Forms
*These forms are made available here for you to print out, fill in, and take with you to the tag office. Hopefully, this will improve the acquisition process for vehicle license tags.

*You must have Adobe Acrobat Reader to view and/or print out the following forms. To download free, click on the icon below.
If you have trouble accessing these forms, request them at: sv.county.treasurer@wan.kdor.state.ks.us
or
(620) 544-2542

Adobe Acrobat icon

Registration / Special Tags Forms

top of page

Title Forms

top of page

 

Kansas Tag Styles
Physical proof of insurance is now required on ALL Kansas license tags. The proof must show each vehicle's information, policy number and expiration date.

Standard Vehicle Tag:
Cost
: Varies--Includes registration, tag, and title fees and personal property taxes
personalized tag image Personalized Tag: A personalized tag can contain up to seven letters, numbers, and/or spaces in any combination. The message on the tag cannot be vulgar or have an indecent meaning; acceptability will be decided by the State of Kansas DMV. Personalized tags run in five-year cycles. Year 2000 is an issuance year. All personalized plates should be ordered at the County Treasurer's office in the Stevens County Courthouse and will take at least 90 days from the date of order to be delivered to the tag office. Applicants need to fill out the Personalized Tag Form.
Cost
: $44.00 in addition to registration, tag, and title fees and personal property taxes.

Disabled Tag: An individual can receive only one handicapped tag. A business that transports handicapped individuals can have as many tags as it requires. An individual making initial application for a permanent disabled license plate must also apply for a disabled identification card which must be carried by the person that has been assigned the disabled plate. The TR-156 Disabled Placard and/or Plate Application must be filled out and signed by a licensed health care professional. If the vehicle has a current regular tag, that tag must be taken to the tag office to be replaced with a Disabled tag.
Cost: $4.50 in addition to registration, tag, and title fees and personal property tax

personalized disabled tag image Personalized Disabled Tag: These can contain up to five letters, numbers, and/or spaces in any combination.The message cannot be vulgar or have an indecent meaning. All personalized plates run in five-year cycles. Year 2000 is an issuance year. Personalized plates must be ordered at the County Treasurer's office in the Stevens County courthouse and take at least 90 days after ordering to be delivered to the tag office. The TR-159 Disabled Placard and/or Plate Application must be completely filled out and signed by a licensed health care professional.
Cost: $45.00 in addition to registration, tag, and title fees and personal property taxes
antique vehicle tag image

Antique Vehicle Tag: An antique vehicle is any vehicle that is at least 35 years old, inclusive, and one powered by a motor using petroleum fuel, steam, electricity, or a combination thereof. The owner must provide proof of ownership by presenting a properly assigned title or a notarized bill of sale, which includes the make, year, selling price, and vehicle identification number (VIN).
Cost: $43.00 in addition to tag and title fees. Annual fees are $17.00 after the tag is issued, $12.00 of which is personal property tax and $5.00 is an application fee.
You may also get a title only for an antique. The same vehicle age requirements exist, but no insurance is necessary.
C
ost: $7.00 and you pay the $17.00 personal property tax yearly.

personalized antique vehicle tag image Personalized Antique Vehicle Tag: An antique vehicle is any vehicle that is at least 35 years old, inclusive, and one powered by a motor using petroleum fuel, steam, electricity, or a combination thereof. The owner must provide proof of ownership by presenting a properly assigned title or a notarized bill of sale, which includes the make, year, selling price, and vehicle identification number (VIN). A personalized antique vehicle tag can contain up to seven letters, numbers, and/or spaces in any combination. The message on the tag cannot be vulgar or have an indecent meaning; acceptability will be decided by the State of Kansas DMV. All personalized plates should be ordered at the County Treasurer's office in the Stevens County Courthouse and will take at least 90 days from the date of order to be delivered to the tag office.
Cost
: $43.50 in addition to registration, tag, and title fees. Annual fees are $17.00 after the tag is issued.
Special Vehicle Tag: A vehicle which is at least 20 years old and which has not been altered, except to assure normal running operation, may qualify for a special tag. Owners of "special interest vehicles" must also own and have registered one or more vehicles with regular registration. Included as a "special interest vehicle" is a vehicle manufactured before 1949 that has been modified and may be registered as a "street rod." An applicant must designate the vehicle as either a "street rod" or a "special interest vehicle" and complete the Special Interest Vehicle/Street Rod Affidavit. Special Interest/Street Rod tags take at least 90 days after ordering to be delivered to the tag office.
Cost: $29.00 for a full year or half of the fee for six months, in addition to registration, tag, and title fees and personal property taxes
veteran tag image U.S. Veteran Tag: All honorably discharged United States Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine, Merchant Marine, or Coast Guard Veterans qualify for this veteran tag. Individuals will be required to show a DD214. If the vehicle is currently tagged, individuals must bring in the current tag to be replaced by the veteran tag. There are no restrictions on the number of plates for veterans, but the veteran must be listed on the title.
Cost: Tag and title fees, and personal property taxes
Disabled Veteran Tag: To be eligible for this tag the veteran must be 100% permanently disabled. He/she must provide a TR-103 Form with an initial DAV application. Re-certification is required every three years. Only the first plate is free; any additional plates will require the applicant to pay registration fees and personal property taxes. DAV plates can be transferred from an individual name to a trust as long as an individual has the tag, DAV card, and his/her name on the trust. If it is a currently-tagged vehicle, the current tag must be turned in to be replaced by the Disabled Veteran Plate.
Cost: First plate is free; after that individuals must pay title fees and personal property taxes.
prisoner of war tag image

Ex-POW Tag: Applicants for an Ex-POW tag must provide proof of ownership of the vehicle. The Ex-POW's name must be on the title. Verification of Ex-POW status can be made by one of the following methods.

Documentation from a branch of the Armed Services
Documentation from the Veterans Administration
Newspaper clippings verifying Ex-POW status
Two notarized statements verifying Ex-POW status

A surviving spouse may have the Ex-POW plate only if the deceased POW had already been issued an Ex-POW plate. Only one Ex-POW tag per individual is allowed. If the vehicle is currently tagged, the current tag must be exchanged for the Ex-POW tag. A
TR-120 Ex-Prisoner of War License Plate Application must be completed or verification documentation provided.
Cost: Tag and title fees and personal property taxes

pearl harbor tag image

Pearl Harbor Survivor Tag: To receive this plate, the survivor must meet the following qualifications.

Was a member of the United States Armed Forces on December 7, 1941
Was on station on December 7, 1941, during the hours of 7:55 a.m. to 9:45 a.m. Hawaii time at Pearl Harbor, the island of Oahu or offshore at a distance not to exceed three miles
Received an honorable discharge from the Armed Forces
Is approved by the chairperson of the Kansas Pearl Harbor Survivors Association as being a survivor of the attack


The applicant must complete the TR-104 Application. Pearl Harbor tags may be issued to passenger vehicles or light trucks (12,000 lbs. or less) only. Only one Pearl Harbor tag will be issued per survivor. The survivor must be a titled owner of the vehicle on which the Pearl Harbor tag is being used. Pearl Harbor tags shall not be issued for any company-owned or leased vehicles. If the vehicle is currently tagged, the current tag must be exchanged for the Pearl Harbor tag.
Cost: The tag is free. Applicants must pay personal property taxes.

national guard tag image National Guard Tag: Applicants may use their United States Armed Forces ID cards for proof of Guard membership. Retired members of the Kansas National Guard may retain their National Guard tags by having retired ID cards for proof. Applicants will need to complete the TR-129 Application for National Guard License Plate Form. On initial application, parts 1 and 2 of the application should be completed. If the vehicle is currently tagged, individuals must exchange the current tag for the National Guard tag. The applicant must be on the title of additional vehicles.
Cost: Tag and title fees and personal property taxes
combat wounded tag image Combat Wounded Tag: An applicant must provide a copy of his/her DD124 the first time applying for a Purple Heart plate. Applicants are allowed Purple Heart tags for all vehicles of which they are titled owners. Purple Heart tags cannot transfer to a spouse upon death. They also cannot not be issued to a company-owned or leased vehicle. If a vehicle is currently tagged, the current tag must be exchanged for the Purple Heart tag.
Cost: The tag is free. Applicant must pay registration fees and personal property taxes.
Amateur Radio Operator Tag: In order to receive a ARO tag, one must provide a copy of an unrevoked, unexpired radio license issued by the Federal Communications Commission. Only passenger cars or trucks (16,000 lbs. Or less) qualify for ARO registration. Amateur Radio Operator tags are available approximately 90 days after ordering
Cost: $1.00 in addition to registration, tag, and title fees and personal property taxes
Kansas State University tag image Kansas State University Tag: Applicants must have a certificate filled out by the University for proof of payment to the Alumni Association. If the vehicle is leased, the Alumni member must have his/her name on the title. Only cars and light trucks qualify for education tags. An annual authorization statement is required when renewing, proving that Alumni dues are current. If the vehicle is currently tagged, the current tag must be exchanged for the education tag
Cost: $48.50 in addition to registration, tag, and title fees and personal property taxes
Certification for this tag can be done interactively at:
www.k-state.com/merchandise/licensePlate.asp
Kansas University tag image Kansas University Tag: Applicants must have a certificate filled out by the University for proof of payment to the Alumni Association. If the vehicle is leased, the Alumni member must have his/her name on the title. Only cars and light trucks qualify for education tags. An annual authorization statement is required when renewing, proving that Alumni dues are current. If the vehicle is currently tagged, the current tag must be exchanged for the education tag
Cost: $48.50 in addition to registration, tag, and title fees and personal property taxes
Certification for this tag may be done interactively at: www.ukans.edu/~kualumni/plate.html
Pittsburg University tag image Pittsburg State University Tag: Applicants must have a certificate filled out by the University for proof of payment to the Alumni Association. If the vehicle is leased, the Alumni member must have his/her name on the title. Only cars and light trucks qualify for education tags. An annual authorization statement is required when renewing, proving that Alumni dues are current. If the vehicle is currently tagged, the current tag must be exchanged for the education tag
Cost: $48.50 in addition to registration, tag, and title fees and personal property taxes
Certification for this tag may be done interactively at: www.pittstate.edu/alum/plates.html
Wichita State University tag image Wichita State University Tag: Applicants must have a certificate filled out by the University for proof of payment to the Alumni Association. If the vehicle is leased, the Alumni member must have his/her name on the title. Only cars and light trucks qualify for education tags. An annual authorization statement is required when renewing, proving that Alumni dues are current. If the vehicle is currently tagged, the current tag must be exchanged for the education tag
Cost: $48.50 in addition to registration, tag, and title fees and personal property taxes
Please contact the alumni association at (316) 978-ALUM
Children's Trust Fund Tag: Applicants must have a certificate from The Children's Trust Fund showing proof of a $50.00 donation. The form is available here. If the vehicle is leased, the applicant must have his/her name on the title. Only cars and light trucks qualify for this tag. If the vehicle is currently tagged, the current tag must be exchanged for the Trust Fund tag
Cost: Varies--Includes registration, tag, and title fees and personal property taxes
Standard Motorcycle Tag:
Cost: Registration, tag, and title fees and personal property taxes
personalized motorcycle tag image
Personalized Motorcycle Tag: These can contain up to five letters, numbers, and/or spaces in any combination.The message cannot be vulgar or have an indecent meaning. All personalized plates run in five-year cycles. Year 2000 is an issuance year. Personalized plates must be ordered at the County Treasurer's office in the Stevens County Courthouse and take at least 90 days after ordering to be delivered to the tag office.
Cost: $43.50 in addition to registration, tag, and title fees and personal property taxes
disabled motorcycle tag image
Disabled Motorcycle Tag: An individual making initial application for a disabled motorcycle tag must also apply for a disabled identification card which must be carried by the person that has been assigned a disabled tag. The TR-159 Disabled Placard and/or Plate Application must be completely filled out and signed by a licensed health care professional.
Cost: $4.00 in addition to registration, tag, and title fees and personal property taxes
antique motorcycle tag image
Antique Motorcycle Tag: An antique vehicle is any vehicle that is at least 35 years old, inclusive, and one powered by a motor using petroleum fuel, steam, electricity, or a combination thereof. The owner must provide proof of ownership by presenting a properly assigned title or a notarized bill of sale, which includes the make, year, selling price, and vehicle identification number (VIN).
Cost: $43.00 in addition to tag and title fees. Annual fees are $17.00 after the tag is issued, $12.00 of which is personal property tax and $5.00 is an application fee.
You may also get a title only for an antique. The same vehicle age requirements exist, but no insurance in necessary.
C
ost: $7.00 and you pay the $12.00 personal property tax yearly.
Standard Motorbike Tag:
Cost: Registration fees


Frequently Asked Questions

Q. How much will it cost to register my vehicle?
A.

Title Fees $10.00
Transfer Fees $4.50
Registration:
Autos less than 4500 lbs. $33.00
Autos over 4500 lbs. $43.00
12M Trucks $43.00
Motorcycles $19.00
Motorbikes $14.00
Trailers:
2000 - 8000 $18.00
8001 - 1200 $28.00
12001 and over $38.00


a. If the weight of the trailer and the load combined is less than 2,000 pounds, registration is optional. If a farm trailer hauling the farmer's own product has a load of less than 6,000 pounds, registration is optional. For fees on trucks with gross weight of over 16,000 pounds, call the County Treasurer's Office.

b. Property tax is paid at the time of registration/title application and is determined in the County Treasurer's Office. The exceptions are heavy trucks, trailers, and mopeds, whose taxes are determined by the County Appraiser's Office.

c. Reflectorized plate
fee is $0.50.

d. Sales tax will be collected in the tag office if the vehicle is bought from an individual or purchased out of state. The sales tax rate is 6.3% plus a $0.50 collection fee. For out of state purchases, sales tax is according to where you live. State rate is 5.3 %, Hugoton city is 6.3 %.

e. The fee to transfer a tag is $14.50 plus the difference in the property tax.

Q. What do I need to know about transferring a tag from one vehicle to another?
A. The fee to transfer is $14.50 plus the difference in the property tax. The names on the two titles must be the same. If the old tag is expired, it can only be transferred if it is a personalized tag. If this is your renewal month, your fees will be the same as a new tag minus the $0.50 plate fee. The old vehicle must be sold or traded in, even if it is not running. As long as the title is still in your name, the plate must stay with it.

Q. I'm moving to Kansas from another state; how do I register my vehicle?
A. If you have the title, you need to bring in the title, the vehicle inspection, and the proof of insurance. The person who is named on the title is the only person who can register the vehicle. If two names appear on the title with and/or between the names, only one person has to come in. If two names are on the title with and between them, both persons must come in. All vehicles coming from out of state must have a VIN inspection from the Stevens County Sheriff's Office.The cost is $10.00 in cash.

If you do not have the title because the lienholder of that state keeps it until the vehicle is paid for, you will need to come to the Stevens County Treasurer's Office with your current out-of-state registration or a non-negotiable title. We will also need your proof of insurance. We will then title the vehicle. The State will write to your lienholder and request the out-of-state title. You will receive a letter to get an inspection done at the Stevens County Sheriff's Department. You will need to send the pink copy back to the State and the Kansas title will be held as an E-Title and will not be printed until the lien is paid off.

Q. What papers will I need to title a newly-purchased vehicle?
A. You will need the title or MSO (if it's a new car), signed over to you, the sales tax receipt or bill of sale, the car's current mileage, and your proof of insurance. When transferring a tag between two cars, you need the current registration or tag number of the old car and the name and address of the person to whom the vehicle was sold.

Q. What are your office hours?
A. The Tag Office is open between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., including lunch hour, Monday through Friday. The office stops doing vehicle business at 4:45 p.m. in order to run reports and balance the day's business.

Q. Where are you located?
A. The Tag Office is located at the Stevens County Courthouse at 200 E. 6th in Hugoton, Ks.

Q. Where can I get my vehicle inspected, and during what hours?
A. All out-of-state title for used vehicles (and Kansas Non-Highway vehicles) require inspection. The fee is $10.00 in CASH ONLY and can be done at the Stevens County Sheriff Department.

Q. How can I renew my tags if I didn't get a renewal notice in the mail?
A. Take your registration or tag number and proof of insurance to the Stevens County Treasurer's Office, and they will be able to process your renewal.

Q. How can I get a refund, and what forms will I need?
A. Bring in your tag, current owner's registration, Social Security number (for a personal vehicle) or Federal ID# (for business or lease vehicles), and name and address of the person to whom the vehicle was sold. Refunds are calculated from the month they are received.

Q. Where can I get a power of attorney / lienholder consent / bill of sale, etc.?
A. These tag forms and many others are available on this web page in the Vehicle Tag Forms section above. You will need to download Adobe Acrobat Reader to view and/or print these forms. This is a free download, and the site can be accessed from the Vehicle Tag Forms section above.

Q. My tag was stolen. What do I do?
A. You will need to report the plate stolen to the Sheriff's Office. Bring the registration and proof of insurance, and we will replace the tag for $3.00. If registration is not available an additional .50 will be added.

Q. How do I get a personalized tag?
A. The price for
personalized tags is $44.00, in addition to other fees and personal property taxes.

Q. What will happen if I have delinquent taxes?
A. If you have delinquent personal property taxes in ANY county in Kansas, they MUST be paid before vehicles can be tagged.

Q. How can I pay for my tags?
A. Acceptable forms of payment are cash, check, money order, cashier's check.

Q. Where can I go to renew my handicapped placard? Where do I mail it?
A. This is done at the Stevens County Treasurer's Office in the County Courthouse. It can also be mailed to Stevens County Treasurer, 200 E 6th, Hugoton, Ks 67591.

Q. Do my tags expire on the first day or the last day of the month?
A. Auto, truck, and motorcycle tags expire on the last day of each month, with the exception of heavy trucks (over 12,000 lbs.) and trailers, which expire Dec. 31 with a grace period until Feb. 15.

Q. Why aren't my tags good for a full year?
A. Tag renewals are good for a full year. Tags for vehicles bought new within the year will be good for the period between the purchase date and the expiration date; in some cases this will be for just a partial year.
Tags are prorated from the month the title is notarized until the month your tag comes due, which is determined by your last name. See the Tag Schedule table above.

Q. I am a military dependent. Shouldn't I be exempted from property taxes?
A. No. Only the active duty military member is exempt.

Q. Can I get an extension on my thirty-day permit?
A. No. There are no extensions.

Q. My doctor says I'm permanently handicapped. Why do I have to re-certify for handicap privileges?
A. Law requires re-certification every three years for verification of status of the handicapped individual.

Q. Why do I pay taxes on my leased vehicle when I'm in the military?
A. The leased vehicle is in the leasing company name; therefore, they are the legal owner of the vehicle and not exempt.

Q. I am in the military but a Kansas resident. Do I pay taxes on my vehicle?
A. If the military person and the vehicle are stationed in Kansas, the vehicle is taxable. If the military person is a resident of Kansas, but stationed in another state, the vehicle is exempt.

Q. I own businesses in several counties in Kansas. Where do I register my vehicle?
A. The vehicle should be registered in the county where the main business in located, or where the vehicle is housed.

Q. I am active duty military, but the vehicle is in my wife's name. Do I have to pay taxes of the vehicle.
A. Yes. The service member must be included on the title in order to be exempt.

Q. Do I have to get a Kansas driver's license if I have Kansas plates?
A. Yes

Q. Do I have to register my vehicle if I am going to sell it?
A. Yes. You first have to acquire a title in your name before it can be sold to another individual or business.

top of page